On May 2002, VSU implemented RA 9163 or the National Service Training Program (NSTP) Act of 2001, which became law on January 23, 2002. VSU then created the National Service Training Program Office (NSTPO) to supervise the implementation of the program and its component programs, namely: Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC), the Civic Welfare Training Service (CWTS) and Literacy Training Service (LTS). A student can then take any of the three programs for his/her training as a requirement for graduation. However, due to limited trained faculty for literacy, VSU implemented only the ROTC and CWTS. Both ROTC and CWTS component of the National Service Training Program (NSTP) implemented the program in accordance with the approved Program of Instruction. Trainings were conducted at the designated rooms and other venues appropriate for the number of trainees per training day. For ROTC, demonstration and practical exercises were done at the VSU parade ground or oval.

During the past years VSU-ROTC has been awarded as the BEST ROTC UNIT of REGION VIII during the Regional Annual Administrative and Tactical Inspection (RAATI). Since 2002 there was no national annual administrative and tactical evaluation, the VSU ROTC Unit is still the National Best ROTC Unit. CWTS on the other hand, has been recognized as active partners in development by the host barangays in Baybay City. Host barangays since 2003 until second semester of SY 2005-2006 includes; 13 Barangays in Baybay, Leyte (Candadam, Gabas, Guadalupe, Pangasugan, Patag, Marcos, San Agustin, Bunga, Cogon, Hibunawan, Maganhan, Gakat, San Isidro), and 1 in Albuera, Leyte (Tabgas) respectively.



Socially awake, morally renewed and transformed, politically empowered and militarily prepared youths for the service of the country.


Recovery of the youth's sense of patriotism and national pride, values and habits of discipline and hard work, integrity and accountability for nation building.


Promote and integrate values education, transformational leadership, spirit of patriotism and nationalism and sustainable social mobilization for youth development, community building and national security.


NSTP Program Components

  1. Rerserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC) - designed to provide military training to tertiary level students in order to motivate, train, organize and mobilize them for national defense preparedness.
  2. Civic Welfare Training Service (CWTS) - refers to activities contributory to the general welfare and the betterment of life for the members of the community or the enhancement of its facilities, especially those adevoted to improving health, education, environmental, enterpreneurship, safety, recreation and moral of the citizenry and other social welfare services.
  3. Literacy Training Service (LTS) - is designed to train the students to teach literacy and numeracy skills to school children, out-of-school youth and other segments of society in need of their services.

Coverage and Duration of NSTP

All incoming freshmen students, both male and female, starting School Year (SY) 2002-2003, enrolled in any baccalaureate and in at least two (2) year technical -vocational or associate courses, are required to complete one (1) NSTP component of their choice, as a graduation requirement. The NSTP shall be undertaken for an academic period of two (2) semesters, credited for three (3) units per semester and with contact period from 54 to 90 hours per semester.

Male college students currently enrolled, who have not taken any program component of the previous Expanded ROTC are covered by the NSTP law

Male college students who have taken only one (1) semester of the Basic ROTC or EROTC/NSP shall take one more semester of any of the NSTP components to qualify for graduation.

Male students who have completed two semesters of the Expanded ROTC (E-ROTC) or National Service Program (NSP) are deemed to have complied with the NSTP requirement.