The Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines, Inc. (AACCUP) celebrated its 25th Annual National Conference and Silver Anniversary at the Fiesta Pavilion of the Manila Hotel on February 20-22, 2012. VSU officials present were Dr. Oscar B. Posas - VP for Instruction; Dr. Lualhati M. Noriel – Head, University Accreditation Center; and Dr. Justiniano L. Seroy – Head, Department of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences. Drs. Posas, Noriel and Seroy are also AACCUP accreditors.


The annual conference aimed to assess the performance of AACCUP during the last 25 years and celebrate its accomplishments, motivate to sustain the gains in quality assurance and pursue further with vigor in partnership with State Universities and Colleges (SUCs), strengthen determination to advance accreditation enriched by "best practices" of international partners and give fitting recognition to individuals who have pioneered in motivating the academe to embrace quality assurance and to SUCs that have excelled in having their institutional programs accredited.

On the opening day, important local and foreign dignitaries was headed by Hon. Loren B. Legarda, Senator and Chair of the Committee on Climate Change, who served as Guest of Honor and Speaker. Also present were former CHED Chairman Dr. Angel C. Alcala, PASUC President Dr. Ricardo E. Rotoras and Dr. Rosita L. Navarro, President of FAAP. Foreign speakers include Dato Dr. Sayed Ahmad Hussein of Malaysia and Dr. George Jung – Jyi Jiang of Taiwan.

Moreover, AACCUP presented awards and citations to individuals and institutions who have contributed and made major enhancements in promoting quality in a special program dubbed "Silver Toast". Dr. Manuel K. Palomar and Dr. Justiniano L. Seroy were the recipients of the Crystal Service Award. Receiving the award on behalf of Dr. Palomar was Dr. Noriel.

Also, a plaque of recognition was awarded to VSU for being the institution that pioneered Institutional Accreditation and was awarded Level II Status on June 15, 2011. The award was received by Dr. Posas on behalf of Dr. Jose L. Bacusmo. It can be recalled that the VSU Institutional Accreditation was conducted on November 21 – 26, 2010. VSU is the very first state university in the Philippines to undergo institutional accreditation by the AACCUP.