After the External Screening Committee (ESC) evaluated the Visayas State University (VSU) as one of the three finalists from among the 18 contenders nationwide for the Tanglaw Award, the Governing Council (GC) acted the ESC recommendation during its meeting on October 3, 2013. The Philippine Council for Agriculture, Aquatic and Natural Resources Research and Development (PCAARRD) proclaimed VSU as the winner in the Search for Tanglaw Award 2013.

The award will be received by VSU President Jose L. Bacusmo during the exhibit cum awarding ceremonies on November 8, 2013 at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Pasay City with the theme “PCAARRD: Kaagapay sa Pag-unlad ng Industriya ng Sakahan at Pangisdaan.” The award carries with it a trophy and a PhP2-million research grant for station development, capability building and upgrading of facilities.

Likewise, Dr. Bacusmo together with Dr. Othello B. Capuno, VP for Research and Extension and ViCARP Director, will receive the ViCARP Plaque of Recognition as 1st Runner Up in the CY 2013 Ugnay Award during the said ceremony. This award also carries a cash incentive of PhP500,000.

According to Dr. Patricio S. Faylon, PCAARRD Executive Director, the awarding ceremonies is their way of thanking their partners and recognizing their outstanding contribution in helping shape the agriculture, aquatic, and natural resources (AANR) sectors of the country through science and technology.

Tanglaw is a Filipino word which means “light”. The award is presented to research institution that has contributed significantly to the progress of agriculture, aquatic and natural resources R&D in the country. It looks into institutional achievement that touches the lives of the people, much like a gleam that pushes part of the shadows further and eventually helps the country keep farmer hold on its economy.

The selection for the Tanglaw Award was based on the following criteria: Technologies developed/utilized, significant information gathered and applied – 60 points; Financial resources generated for the past five years (2008 to present) – 10 points; Capability Building – 10 points; and other accomplishments such as institutional publications, awards received for the past five years, linkages forged, and projects implemented – 20 points.

It can be recalled that the institution (thru the then ViSCA President Dr. Fernando A. Bernardo) first received the Tanglaw Award from the then Philippine Pres. Ferdinand E. Marcos on November 10, 1977 during the 5th PCARR Anniversary Celebration. The second Tanglaw Award was earned by the PRCRTC (now PhilRootcrops) on December 19, 1980 and received by its director, Dr. Marianito R. Villanueva. The 3rd Tanglaw Award was earned again by PhilRootcrops and received on November 10, 2010 by its director, Dr. Julieta R. Roa. This is the fourth time that VSU will be receiving the prestigious Tanglaw Award.

Customer Feedback

Your feedback matters!

As we commit to continually improve our services, we have developed ways for you to reach us online!
Your responses will be treated with the utmost confidentiality and will only be used to improve our services.

Submit Feedback

Or Email Us Directly