The country’s oldest and largest professional organization of teachers of media and communication recently elected its next set of trustees who will lead the organization in the next two years.

The Philippine Association of Communication Educators (PACE) elected 15 trustees from its roster of members during its National Conference and General Assembly held on April 16-18, 2015 at the De La Salle University-Dasmariñas.

Three of the 15 trustees are faculty/staff of the Visayas State University (VSU)—Dr. Wolfreda T. Alesna and Mr. Jed Asaph D. Cortes of the Department of Development Communication (DDC) and Mr. Ulderico B. Alviola of the Information Office, who will soon join DDC after finishing his Ph.D. in Development Communication at UP Los Baños.

The new board is led by Prof. Marco M. Polo of DLSU-Dasmariñas who was re-elected as president. Joining him in the Executive Committee are: Prof. Joeven Castro of Far Eastern University (FEU) - Vice President for Luzon; Mr. U. B. Alviola of  VSU - VP for Visayas; Prof. Mahalia Acuña of Central Mindanao University - VP for Mindanao; Prof. Mark Lester Chico of University of the Philippines Los Baños – Secretary; Mr. J. A. D. Cortes of VSU - Assistant Secretary; Prof. Monina Bello of St. Paul University, Quezon City – Treasurer; Dr. Bettina Joyce Ilagan of Cavite State University - Assistant Treasurer; Dr. Rowena Capulong-Reyes of FEU - Public Relations Officer; and Prof. Gene Pamittan, Jr. of FEU - Compliance Officer.

The trustees are Prof. Ben Domingo formerly of Central Luzon State University and Chair of the CHED Technical Committee on Journalism, Prof. Nicky Salandanan of the University of Santo Tomas (UST), and Dr. W. T. Alesna of VSU. Serving as first term trustees are: Mr. Cortes of VSU, Prof. Janet Tibaldo of St. Louis University, and Prof. Joseph Tubilan of Cebu Normal University.  Dr. Gwen Pusta of UST is Ex-Officio trustee having been the OIC President of PACE before Prof. Marco Polo was elected President in 2012.

The new board is comprised of 12 trustees who were re-elected, three new trustees and one ex-officio. They will serve from School Year 2015/2016 to School Year 2016/2017.

In his message during their induction, Prof. Polo thanked the body for their trust and support to the Board and he urged them to continue to be actively involved in the various projects and programs of PACE.

This year’s election was semi-automated as members in good standing were allowed to vote online. The election committee was comprised of Prof. Melanie Briones of the University of the Assumption (Chair) and Prof. Ernest Collo of Benguet State University (member).  Rowena Capulong-Reyes/PACE Public Relations Officer