Thirteen (13) undergraduate students of the Visayas State University taking up BS Biotechnology and BS Agriculture (Plant Breeding/Genetics) signed the joint VSU and Department of Agriculture-Biotechnology (DA-Biotech) Scholarship Agreement on February 10, 2020, at the PhilRootcrops Training Hall, Baybay City.

The DA-Biotech Scholarship Program gives priority to students taking up agricultural biotechnology and related fields to promote agri-biotechnology and to trailblaze new knowledge in these fields by supporting the education of financially-challenged but academically competent students.


Together with the scholars and their parents, the agreement was signed in the presence of VSU President Dr. Edgardo E. Tulin, VP for Academic Affairs Dr. Beatriz S. Belonias, College of Arts and Sciences Dean Dr. Candelario L. Calibo, Dean of Students Prof. Manolo B. Loreto, Jr., Graduate School Dean Dr. Anabella B. Tulin, and Department of Biotechnology Head Prof. Ma. Theresa P. Loreto.

The ceremonial contract signing coincided with the Biotechnology Week Celebration spearheaded by VSU’s Department of Biotechnology as part of the month-long celebration of the 18th College of Arts and Sciences Founding Anniversary.

VSU President Edgardo Tulin, in a post, mentioned that the scholarship is a big opportunity for the beneficiaries to take advantage of as it aims to empower the future leaders and prime movers in agricultural innovations. He added that aside from the benefits attached to the scholarship, the chosen students shall have the chance for research mentorship by the country’s leading scientists in agri-biotechnology in partner-government institutions, including the Philippine Rice Research Institute, the Philippine Carabao Center, and the National Fisheries Research and Development Institution.

Aside from the stipend, the scholars who will graduate with latin honors shall also receive the following incentives: Cum Laude - PhP10,000; Magna Cum Laude - PhP15,000; Summa Cum Laude - PhP20,000; and for thesis published in reputable local or international publications - PhP10,000.

The following are the DA-Biotech scholars from VSU: Jasmine M. Andres, Marielle F. Bandalan, Karenmihl Claire S. Fernandez, Rasheed F. Kangleon, Janessa P. Lipon, Dhan Stephen P. Mandin, Mizuko Mosquito, Lyza Mae L. Obeda, Shaira Anne L. Quinto, Jea M. Vesera (all BS Biotechnology-1), Ma. Abegail B. Baula, Jenjen L. Magparok (BS Biotechnology-2), and Millene Ruth R. Edradan (BS Agriculture-2).

Customer Feedback

Your feedback matters!

As we commit to continually improve our services, we have developed ways for you to reach us online!
Your responses will be treated with the utmost confidentiality and will only be used to improve our services.

Submit Feedback

Or Email Us Directly